Tags

,

Image

For Those of you who don’t have the pleasure of knowing what this place is- let me inform you. It is the worlds best little greek restaurant over off of Holmes and….99th? They make the BEST Gyro in town second only to a place called Max’s that is oddly enough 1 street west. But any who this place is amazing!

BUT what I like best is they aren’t open on Sunday’s. Hence the name of the restaurant (which is also a musical I guess?)Image

Who Knew?!?!?!

And I LOVE places that aren’t open on Sunday’s : Hobby Lobby, Chic-Fil-A and up until a month or so ago the company I worked for -sorry no hyper link here I’m smarter then I look for purpose of this venture we will just call my company…..Clown Company.

I started working for clown company about 6 and 1/2 years ago. I love the business that I’m in and I LOVE the company that I work for. They have treated me well, they have treated me fair, paid be great, kept me employed through a recession, have great benefits, have helped me grow and learn and become the super star that I am, and more.

I’ve stood up for them, I’ve defended them, I’ve worked my ass off for them, I’ve made them LOTS of money.

And now I’m irritated with them.

Back in November they decided to restructure the company. Ok whatever fine, people got fired, people got demoted, people quit due to it, people took over blah blah blah. All companies do it; its a fact of life. We now have these folks from our Southwest division in charge of us up here in Kansas. Ok- once again whatever fine I can deal with ANOTHER new big boss ( I had 4-6 new bosses in 2013 and 4 big bosses I mean obviously they needed to restructure.) and at first (and still mostly) the Texas ladies have been great, they don’t’ micromanage like a old big boss did, they thought I was WONDERFUL and asked if I would ever move to Texas to become a Boss ( not happening make me Boss here) , let us be closed more on the holidays due to meeting/exceeding goals, generally being pretty dang cool.

And then they brought up Sundays. Apparently Head Clown wasn’t’ aware that business in the Kansas City/Mid-west market weren’t’ open on Sundays ( how Head Clown didn’t know this I don’t know- perhaps his job should be restructured if you aren’t even paying attention) and Big Texas Lady thinks its crazy that we aren’t open and they want us to be open. They are telling me after 6+ years of working for them that I need to give up MY ONE DAY A WEEK with my family to work 4 hours- because “The Customer Needs you!”

The Customer can hold their freaking horses for 24 hours.

I’m already open on Saturdays! I’ve worked nearly EVERY Saturday for the last 3 years! And now Sunday’s! What?!?!?!

And then to top it all off- I can’t BELIEVE the way they are going about telling us why we need to be open on Sundays. The customer needs me?!?!? Bullcrap- you want a chance to just make another $5 or so. Just tell me the truth don’t sugar coat it to try and make me WANT to work, because it won’t work. And Oh I guess what your employees want doesn’t matter AT ALL let’s forget about keeping them happy, cause they aren’t the ones you know ACTUALLY working here (eyeroll). And with all this NEW and IMPROVED and WE ARE DIFFERENT- Why can’t the thing that makes us different be the closed on Sundays? I mean it works for the above?!?!?!

So yeah there’s that. I was mad, I was hurt, I was upset, I didn’t know what to do or how to feel. Now to be fair to Clown Company they have implemented some ways to prevent us from having to having to be open on Sundays. And so I’m trying to look at the positives and just keep doing my job the way I always have. I’m working toward a promotion so that I don’t have to be in a position that works on Sundays. I’m trying to meet my goals so that I don’t have to be open. I’m doing my part. And quite frankly right now with some other stuff I have going on- I don’t have the means or ability to look for another job. But I don’t want to be someone who just goes along and does something because they have to but complains about it any chance they get ( present entry aside) .

So I’m doing what I need to do, because I do LOVE my Job, and I do LOVE the business that I’m in and for the most part I love working for Clown Company. I know that God has his hand even in this, and that somewhere along the line I will see his reasoning for putting me here and having everything that’s happening have happened. I will see his glorious plan and it will be better then anything I could of every imagined for myself.

But I’m still irritated.

for it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure. Do all things without grumbling or disputing-Philippians 2:13&14

